Public Holidays in 2018

Exemple

Public Holidays in 2018

With each New Year, the days that public holidays fall on, change.  Public Holidays can be different depending on the state or territory that you’re in so we have put together a handy list for you, in order to ensure that you are paying your staff correctly.

Please note that this list is separated into two sections, firstly holidays that apply to all of Australia and then the individual state/territory days.

All of Australia

All Australia States and Territories receive the following public holidays:

  • Monday 1st January – New Year’s Day
  • Friday 26th of January – Australia Day
  • Friday 30th of March – Good Friday
  • Monday 2nd of April – Easter Monday
  • Wednesday 25th of April – Anzac Day
  • Tuesday the 25th of December – Christmas Day
  • Wednesday the 26th of December – Boxing Day

State Specific Public Holidays

Victoria

  • Monday 12th March – Labour Day
  • Saturday 31st March – Easter Saturday
  • Sunday 1st April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 11th June – Queen’s Birthday
  • TBC – Friday before AFL Grand Final
  • Tuesday 6th November – Melbourne Cup (all of Victoria is entitled to Melbourne Cup public holiday unless a different local holiday has been declared for non-metropolitan areas)

New South Wales

  • Saturday 31st March – Easter Saturday
  • Sunday 1st April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 11th June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Monday 6th August – Bank Holiday (applies to banks and certain financial institutions)
  • Monday 1st October – Labour Day

Queensland

  • Saturday 31st March – Easter Saturday
  • Sunday 1st April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 7th May – Labour Day
  • Wednesday 15th August – Royal Queensland Show – Brisbane Area Only
  • Monday 1st October – Queen’s Birthday

South Australia

  • Monday 12th March – March Public Holiday
  • Saturday 31st March – Easter Saturday
  • Monday 11th June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Monday 1st October – Labour Day
  • Monday 24th December – Christmas Eve (from 7pm to midnight)
  • Monday 31st December – New Year’s Eve (from 7pm to midnight)

Tasmania

  • Monday 12th February – Royal Hobart Regatta (only observed in certain areas of the state)
  • Monday 12th March – Eight Hours Day
  • Tuesday 3rd April – Easter Tuesday (only applies under certain awards or registered agreements and to the state public service)
  • Monday 11th June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Monday 5th November – Recreation Day (all parts of the state which do not observe Royal Hobart Regatta)

Australian Capital Territory

  • Monday 12th of March – Canberra Day
  • Saturday 31st of March – Easter Saturday
  • Sunday 1st of April – Easter Sunday
  • Monday 28th May – Reconciliation Day
  • Monday 11th June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Monday 1st October – Labour Day

Western Australia

  • Monday 5th March – Labour Day
  • Monday 4th June – Western Australia Day
  • Monday 24th September – Queen’s Birthday (Some regional areas in WA hold the Queen’s Birthday public holiday on a different date)

 Northern Territory

  • Saturday 31st March – Easter Saturday
  • Monday 7th May – May Day
  • Monday 11th June – Queen’s Birthday
  • Monday 6th August – Picnic Day
  • Monday 24th December – Christmas Eve (from 7pm to midnight)
  • Monday 31st December – New Year’s Eve (from 7pm to midnight)

Show days in the Northern Territory

  • Friday 29th June – Borroloola Show Day
  • Friday 6th July – Alice Springs Show Day
  • Friday 13rd July – Tennant Creek Show Day
  • Friday 20th July – Katherine Show Day
  • Friday 27th July – Darwin Show Day

If you are unsure about what to when public holidays apply, you may find our Public Holiday Quick Reference guide useful, alternatively you can call the office at 1300 717 721 for further advice.   

 

Hr Central

Related Posts